July 16, 2017

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas - Review

Book details:
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA 
Genre: Young Adult
ISBN-13: 978-1619635180

About this book:
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.

Meet the author - Sarah Maas:
Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a USA Today and international bestselling author. Sarah wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in thirty-five languages. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. Empire of Storms, the fifth Throne of Glass novel,is available now.

She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Where to find Sarah:

My thoughts;
Let me start by admitting that this is not my normal genre and had it now been for a co-worker recommending this book I probably would not have picked it up. Honestly until I starting reading this book I had not stepped foot in the Young Adult section and now I have a wish list a mile long. This book grabbed me from the first page. I could not put it down and kept looking for reasons to get in some more reading time. Feyre was someone if felt bad for. She was trying to do the right thing for her family but they were not so nice to her. I really did not like her sister Nesta but feelings change in the end. My feelings also changed on Tamlin, Lucien and Rhys at times I hated them and at times I loved them. One person I never liked was Amarantha she was just plain evil. The author gave us so many details that I really felt like I was right alongsie of Feyre. I also liked her writing style as it made the book read quickly. I am looking forward to reading number two in this series. A Court of Mist and Fury. 

No comments:

Post a Comment