July 20, 2018

The Complete Brambly Hedge by Jill Barklem - Review

Book details
Age Range: 5 - 7 years
Grade Level: Kindergarten - 2
Series: Brambly Hedge
Hardcover: 248 pages
Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks; 1st Edition edition (October 27, 2011)
ISBN-13: 978-0007450169

Book description
The mice of Brambly Hedge have been delighting adults and children alike for more than thirty years. All eight of the classic picture books are brought together in this exquisite volume.

The mice of Brambly Hedge made their first appearance in 1980 when the four seasonal stories were published. Ever since, readers have loved exploring the miniature world of the hedgerow and meeting the families that live there.

In this collection the mice have many adventures, but they always have time for fun and relaxation too. Whatever the season, and whether they are by the sea, in the High Hills, or simply at home by the fire, there is always someone ready to lend a helping hand.

Contains: Spring Story, Summer Story, Autumn Story, Winter Story, Poppy’s Babies, Sea Story, The High Hills, The Secret

Meet the author - Jill Barklem
Jill Barklem was drawn to the natural world ever since childhood. While training as an illustrator at St Martin’s School of Art, her long journeys to college gave her time to escape into the imaginary world of a colony of mice, later to be developed as the enchanting miniature world of Brambly Hedge.

My thoughts
I loved this book. I picked this book up because of the drawings I have seen online. The stories were adorable and I loved how the first ones were broken into seasons. It was fun to read about the lives of the little mice. I could sit and looks at the illustrations in this book all day. I think this is a must have in your children's collection. 

No comments:

Post a Comment