January 12, 2014

Emma of Aurora by Jane Kirkpatrick

"I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review."

Emma of Aurora by Jane Kirkpatrick
ISBN: 9780307732156
Trade Paperback
Change and Cherish Trilogy

This book is three books in one and they are:
A Clearing in the Wild
A Tendering in the Storm
A Mending at the Edge

Synopsis: A Clearing in the Wild
When Emma’s outspoken ways and growing skepticism lead to a clash with the 1850s Bethel, Missouri colony’s beloved leader, she finds new opportunities to pursue her dreams of independence. But as she clears a pathway West to her truest and deepest self, she discovers something she never expected: a yearning for the warm embrace of community. 
A Tendering in the Storm
Determined to raise her children on her own terms, Emma suddenly finds herself alone and pregnant with her third child, struggling to keep her family secure in the remote coastal forest of the Washington Territory. As clouds of despair close in, she must decide whether to continue in her own waning strength or to humble herself and accept help from the very people she once so eagerly left behind. 
A Mending at the Edge
As a mother, daughter, sister, and estranged wife, Emma struggles to find her place inside—and outside—the confines of her religious community. Emma reaches out to others on the fringe, searching for healing and purpose. By blending her unique talents with service to others, she creates renewed hope as she weaves together the threads of family, friends, and faith.

My Review: Jane has another hit for me with this series of books. I like how all of her books pull you so much that you don't want to put them down and before you know it you are finished with the book. It was enjoyable to read about Emma and how the she went West. Emma was definately a strong woman to do all she did. I am glad that all three books were in one volume because as soon as I was done with one, I was ready to start the next. I recommend this series to historical fiction fans.

About the author: Jane Kirkpatrick is a best-selling, award-winning author whose previous historical novels include All Together in One Place and Christy Award finalist A Tendering in the Storm. An international keynote speaker, she has earned regional and national recognition for her stories based on the lives of actual people, including the prestigious Wrangler Award from the Western Heritage Hall of Fame. Jane is a Wisconsin native who since 1974 has lived in Eastern Oregon, where she and her husband, Jerry, ranch 160 rugged acres. - See more at: Waterbrook Multnomah You can also visit her website by clicking here


  1. I loved her "Where Lilacs Still Bloom" so I've been slowly collecting her other novels. This looks like a keeper with the 3-in-1 edition. Thanks for the review!