April 26, 2013

Duchess by Susan May Warren (Daughter's of Fortune Book 3)

Title: Duchess (Daughter's of Fortune #3)
Author: Susan May Warren
ISBN: 9781609367718
Type: Trade Paperback
Synopsis: When her country needs her, will she have the courage to surrender her glittering world and her one true love?

The golden age of Hollywood is in the business of creating stars. Rosie Worth, now starlet Roxy Price, has found everything she's wanted in the glamour of the silver screen. With adoring fans and a studio-mogul husband, she's finally silenced the voices-and grief-of the past. Her future shines bright...until the fated Black Friday when it all comes crashing down. When Roxy loses everything, she finds herself disgraced and penniless. Her only hope is to join forces with Belgian duke Rolfe Van Horne, a longtime film investor. But Rolfe is not who he seems, and he has other plans for Roxy and her movies-plans to support a growing unrest in Europe, plans that could break her heart and endanger her life. Find out more about the series by clicking on these links. HeiressBaroness.

My Review: This is the third book in the Daughters of Fortune series. In this book we hear the story of Rosie now known as Roxie Price on the silver screen. Rosie had it all until Black Friday then she is penniless and turns to Rolfe for help, but he is not all that he seems to be. This is the first book I have read by Susan. I have the other two in this series but time ran out on me so I had to read the last one first. I really enjoyed Susan's writing style. She makes me feel as if I am right there and becoming friends with Rosie. Susan has a way of writing that makes the story flow. I am not usually a fan of this time period but the way this was written I found myself enjoying the book and wanting to hurry back and read the other two in this series. Rosie's character is written as if she is a real person which makes the book that much better. If you are looking for a nice read with some strong characters then I recommend this book to you. I would suggest you start with book one although you don't have to, I just personally like to read books in order. I also liked how everything had a nice ending and did not leave the story dangling. I received this book from Litfuse for a fair and honest review. I give it four stars. 

Meet Susan: Susan May Warren is the bestselling, RITA Award-winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota, where many of her books are set. She and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA's Inspirational Reader's Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. Five of her books have been Christy Award finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan loves to teach and speak at women's events about God's amazing grace in our lives. She also runs a writing community for authors. Visit MyBookTherapy.com to learn more. For exciting updates on her new releases, previous books, and more, visit her website at www.susanmaywarren.com

1 comment: