July 21, 2015

The Newcomber by Robyn Carr

Published: June 25, 2013
Number of pages: 368
Genre: Romance
Series: Thunder Point #2

Single dad and Thunder Point's deputy sheriff "Mac" McCain has worked hard to keep everyone safe and happy. Now he's found his own happiness with Gina James. The longtime friends have always shared the challenges and rewards of raising their adolescent daughters. With an unexpected romance growing between them, they're feeling like teenagers themselves-suddenly they can't get enough of one another.

And just when things are really taking off, their lives are suddenly thrown into chaos. When Mac's long-lost-and not missed-ex-wife shows up in town, drama takes on a whole new meaning. They're wondering if their new feelings for each other can withstand the pressure...but they are not going down without a fight.

Step into the world of Thunder Point, a little town on the Oregon coast where newcomers are welcomed, hearts are broken and mended, and the dramas of everyday life keep the locals laughing, crying and falling in love.

What I thought about this book:
I really enjoyed this book as much as I did the first one in the series. I liked that this one dealt with some common issues that teenagers deal with. The author did a good job of writing about these issues as well as other common issues of normal people. Single parenthood, death of a loved one, breakups, past love showing up, etc. Robyn Carr has a way of writing stories about towns that you would love to pick up and move to. Her writing style also flows so that her books read very fast for me. I am really getting into this series and can't wait to see what happens next. There were a few people in this book I did not like - Downy and Cee Jay but we met some new characters who I liked Spencer, Austin and Frank. 

What do I think of the cover:
I like the cover of Robyn's books as they are simple but inviting. I love the she includes the ocean on her covers. 

About the author:
Robyn Carr is a RITA® Award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author of almost fifty novels, including the critically acclaimed Virgin River series. Her highly anticipated new series, Thunder Point, will be released March 2013. Robyn and her husband live in Las Vegas, Nevada. You can visit Robyn Carr's website at www.RobynCarr.com.

Thunder Point Series
#1 The Wanderer
#2 The Newcomber
#3 The Hero
#4 The Chance
#5 The Promise
#6 The Homecoming
#7 One Wish
#8 A New Hope
#9 Wildest Dreams

1 comment:

  1. I'm looking forward to reading this book!
    I have read the first book in this series, and really liked it.