June 4, 2016

The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandall - Review

I received this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review

Published: September 8, 2015
Number of pages: 320
Genre: Historical Fiction/Inspirational
Series: Everston Chronicles #1
My rating: 5 Stars

Main characters:
Amaryliss Brigham
Nathan Everstone
Lawry Hampton
Claudine Abernathy
Estella Everstone

Minor characters
Bram Everstone
Natalia Livingstone
Jay Crawford
Wyatt Harden

Setting: Maine 1800s

After being unjustly expelled from the Boston Conservatory of Music, Amaryllis Brigham sees her dreams of founding a music academy in her hometown of Seattle, Washington, disappearing before her very eyes. Now, the only way to achieve her goal comes with high stakes for someone set on avoiding men as much as possible: Marry within the year to inherit the immense fortune of her estranged grandmother. Amaryllis reluctantly moves in to her aunt's Boston home and rubs shoulders with fashionable society. Despite her own misgivings, she soon finds herself quickly falling in love with the most unlikely of men, Nathan Everstone, the envy of every eligible female, whose father has haunted her dreams for the decade following her mother's tragic death. However, Nathan turns out to be much more than he seems...and everything she never knew she wanted. But can she ever really trust an Everstone man?

What did I think of this book:
I really enjoyed reading this book but I have to say I was getting so angry with Amaryllis that I wanted to just yell at her. She is so stubborn and would not listen to anything Nathan would try to say as she was set on being miserable. For me this makes a good book when the characters are so engaging to you. The author did a good job on describing each of the homes where this book took place as well at the landscapes. I would love to go and see the places she described. Towards the end of the book I was on the edge of my seat and did not want to put the book down as I could not wait to see what was going to happen next. I am looking forward to starting the second book in this series. 

About the author:
Dawn Crandall is an ACFW Carol Award nominated author of the award winning series The Everstone Chronicles from Whitaker House. The series currently consists of three books: The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart and The Captive Imposter. The next "Everstone" book, The Cautious Maiden, will release October 4, 2016.

Dawn is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary. Apart from writing books, Dawn is also mom to a precious little boy (born March 2014), is expecting her second baby (June 2016), and also serves with her husband in a pre-marriage mentor program at their local church in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Everstone Chronicles
#1 The Hesitant Heiress
#2 The Bound Heart
#3 The Captive Imposter
#4 The Cautious Maiden

No comments:

Post a Comment