January 21, 2018

The Laird and I by Patience Griffin - Review

Book details
Series: Kilts and Quilts of Whussendale
Paperback: 128 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (March 22, 2016)
ISBN-13: 978-1530696260

Book description
New York Times bestselling author of The First Kiss Last summer in the Scottish village of Gandiegow, Hugh McGillivray caught Sophie Munro’s eye, but the dashing Laird behaved badly, acting as if the fun-loving Sophie didn’t exist. Now in the dead of winter, she is set to spend a week at his home, Kilheath Castle, housesitting and learning the art of kiltmaking, completely assured the Laird is out. When he shows up unexpectedly, embarrassment has Sophie wanting to flee back to her own village. She’s not certain how she’s going to unravel herself from this mess—being in his home, in his bed, and he knows nothing of the arrangement that brought her to his castle. Hugh allows Sophie to stay…for now. He’s impressed that, from the start, she’s become indispensable at his wool mill as the kiltmaker’s apprentice, and in his home, helping him to unconventionally heal from his sister’s death. Will the Laird let Sophie leave without telling her how much she’s come to mean to him? Or will he take a risk and ask her to tie the knot when her time at Kilheath Castle is up? Fans of Marie Bostwick, Janet Chapman, RaeAnne Thayne, JoAnn Ross, Robin Carr, Susan Mallery, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips will enjoy Patience Griffin’s novels. Note: Patience Griffin’s THE LAIRD AND I is the novella which bridges the Kilts and Quilts series of Gandiegow and the new series, the Kilts and Quilts of Whussendale. This love story set in Scotland was previously published in MUST LOVE HIGHLANDERS, a duet anthology with New York Times bestseller Grace Burrowes. THE LAIRD AND I is not a historical or time travel story, but a contemporary Scottish romance with a hint of women’s fiction set around the small town quilters of Gandiegow and Whussendale.

Meet the author - Patience Griffin
Award-winning author Patience Griffin has been writing and sewing her whole life but didn’t discover her love of quilting until her late thirties. She decided the best way to acquire her first quilt was to make one for herself. At nearly the same time, she started commuting three and half hours a day for her dream engineering job. To pass the time on the long drive, she got hooked on audiobooks—especially books with love stories. Within a couple of years, she was writing stories of her own. It was no surprise to her family and friends when she combined her love of quilting, her small town roots, and her obsession with Scottish romances into novels. She has gained some recognition with her September 11th Story Quilt which has toured the country as the property of the Pentagon. Her first book, To Scotland with Love, received a Publishers Weekly *starred reviewed, won the New England Readers’ Choice award and Golden Quill for best first book and was also a double RITA® finalist. Patience’s Kilts and Quilts series takes place in small town Scotland and set around a group of quilters. She loves to write about home, heart, and community.

My thoughts
This was another great book by one of my favorite authors. I liked that Deydie made a quick appearance in the book to tie it in with the rest of the other series. It was kind of funny that Sophie got hoodwinked by her friend and friend's mom. Then Hugh was really taken for a loop as he had no idea that someone was coming into his home. I don't know what I would have done in either of their situations as it would have been a strange thing. The addition of the two dogs was fun. They did add to the story. I am looking forward to this author's new book when it comes out. 

No comments:

Post a Comment