July 15, 2017

His Guilt by Shelley Shepard Gray - Review

I received this book free from the publisher

Book details:
Series: The Amish of Hart County
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Avon Inspire (July 4, 2017)
ISBN-13: 978-0062469137

About the book: 
A suspenseful tale of an Amish man who will risk all to protect the woman he loves.

Mark Fisher has returned home to Hart County, determined to put the past behind him. Two years ago, after being wrongly accused of assault, he left the Amish community, though never forgot his home. When the one person who had helped him through his rough times asks for help, Mark returns. But it is pretty Waneta Cain who makes him want to stay...
Neeta is one of the few people in Hart County who doesn't believe Mark is guilty of hurting anyone. However, his worldliness and tough exterior do make her uneasy. As she begins to see the real man behind all the gossip and prejudice, she wonders if he is the man for her.

Just when Mark starts to believe a new life is possible, a close friend of Neeta's is attacked. Once again, everyone in the community seems to believe he is guilty. But what hurts most is Neeta's sudden wariness around him. When another woman is hurt, a woman who is close to both Neeta and himself, Mark fears he knows the real culprit. And time is running out. Will Mark be able to find him before Neeta becomes his next victim?

Learn more and purchase a copy.

Meet the author - Shelley Shepard Grey:
Shelley Shepard Gray is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town's bike trail.

My thoughts:
I enjoyed this turn on the traditional Amish fiction. This story had a bit of a mystery going on which I enjoyed. It made the book even more fun to read than normal. The author liked to drop clues when you were not expecting them. I thought she also did a good job in describing what it was like growing up in a small town. Everyone knows everything about everyone. This is not the typical book that Shelley writes but I have enjoyed it. If you are looking for a fun new series than I suggest this one. This is the second book in this series. It is better if you read them in order but it can also be read as a stand alone. 

No comments:

Post a Comment