June 18, 2015

A Heart's Betrayal by Colleen Coble

I received this book from Litfuse in exchange for a fair and honest review

Publication date: June 2, 2015
Page # 112
Genre: Christian Fiction
Series: Journey of the Heart #4

Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.

When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband’s home, she discovered an awful truth: her deceased husband was a bigamist. And what’s more, the home she thought she inherited never belonged to her at all.

Suddenly displaced, powerless, and ashamed, Emmie can’t stay in Wabash, Indiana. She makes a hopeful start for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, to find her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning. But when she arrives, she discovers she’s pregnant—and without a husband. The new start she’d hoped for slips from her fingers.

But then she meets Isaac Liddle, a handsome soldier with a kind heart. When he begins to court her, Emmie wonders whether she could ever really be his—and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man’s baby.

What did I think about the story:
Just like with the rest of the series this was a good story. Even though this is the fourth book in this series you can read it as a stand alone but I think you will want to read them all together. I like how I feel as if I get a new chapter in the book each month. In this installment we get to know Emmie.  You find yourself really feeling for Emmie as the person she thought was her husband turns out has some secrets that are very heart breaking. So not only is she grieving his death but she is now dealing with the secrets. I like how Emmie and Isaac's relationship blooms in this book. A very fast paced light read for a day at the beach or a rainy stay at home day. 

What did I think of the cover:
I like the color of this book. To me the covers of this series look like a very nice painting. The picture is something I would like to have in a print to hang on my wall. 

My rating:
5 stars

About the author:
USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.

Journey of the Heart Series
#1 A Heart's Disguise
#2 A Heart's Obsession
#3 A Heart's Danger
#4 A Heart's Betrayal

No comments:

Post a Comment